Discover the world with our lifehacks

What are the 19 World Heritage Sites in Australia?

What are the 19 World Heritage Sites in Australia?

The 19 Australian World Heritage sites are:

  • Australian Convict Sites.
  • Australian Fossil Mammal Sites (Riversleigh/Naracoorte)
  • Fraser Island.
  • Gondwana Rainforests of Australia.
  • Great Barrier Reef.
  • Greater Blue Mountains Area.
  • Heard and McDonald Islands.
  • Kakadu National Park.

What are 5 World Heritage Sites in Australia?

7 UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Australia You Can’t Miss

  • Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park.
  • Great Barrier Reef.
  • Sydney Opera House.
  • Shark Bay.
  • Fraser Island.
  • Australian Convict Sites.
  • Lord Howe Islands.

What are the six World Heritage Sites of Australia?

A guide to Australia’s incredible World Heritage sites

  • Budj Bim Cultural Landscape. Budj Bim National Heritage Landscape, Heywood, Victoria © Visit Victoria.
  • Convict sites.
  • Mammal fossil sites.
  • Kakadu National Park.
  • Sydney Opera House.
  • Tasmanian Wilderness.
  • Uluru.
  • Wet Tropics of Queensland.

How many World Heritage Sites are there in Australia?

20 sites
Australia has 20 sites inscribed on the World Heritage List, including iconic sites such as Sydney Opera House, Uluru-Kata Tjuta, Kakadu, the Royal Exhibition Building in Melbourne, our mammal fossil sites at Riversleigh and Naracoorte, and the Great Barrier Reef – places that are vital to the cultural, social and …

Are the 12 Apostles World Heritage listed?

The stretch of Victorian road which winds between hillsides and beach, through rainforest and past the Twelve Apostles, is just the 20th coastal area in Australia to be heritage listed.

Is Rottnest Island a World Heritage Site?

The Rottnest Island Authority believes is befitting the iconic island that the Rottnest/Wadjemup cultural landscape plan of management is the first plan to be underpinned by the UNESCO World Heritage Convention methodology for cultural landscapes in Western Australia.

Who built the Great Ocean Road?

returned servicemen
Construction on the road began on 19 September 1919. It was built by approximately 3,000 returned servicemen as a war memorial for fellow servicemen who had been killed in World War I. An advance survey team progressed through dense wilderness at approximately 3 kilometres a month.

Why is Shark Bay a World Heritage Site?

Shark Bay is one of the world’s most significant and secure strongholds for the protection of Dugong, with a population of around 11,000. Increasing numbers of Humpback Whales and Southern Right Whales use Shark Bay as a migratory staging post, and a famous population of Bottlenose Dolphin lives in the Bay.

Who owns Rottnest Island?

the Whadjuk Noongar people
The traditional owners of Rottnest Island are the Whadjuk Noongar people. The name for Rottnest Island in the Noongar language is Wadjemup, which means ‘place across the water where the spirits are’.

How many Aboriginals died on Rottnest Island?

State records indicate that at least 373 Aboriginal prisoners died in custody on Rottnest Island and are buried in unmarked graves in at least two areas to the north of the Quod.

How many of the 12 apostles are left?

8 apostles
Nowadays, there are only 8 apostles left, with others slowly cutting down further and further until there will be more. But due to the continuing erosion that effects not just the limestone stacks, but the coastal land, the current cliffs are expected to eventually become rock stacks.