Discover the world with our lifehacks

Who is responsible for Kashmir problem?

Who is responsible for Kashmir problem?

India controls approximately 55% of the land area of the region that includes Jammu, the Kashmir Valley, most of Ladakh, the Siachen Glacier, and 70% of its population; Pakistan controls approximately 30% of the land area that includes Azad Kashmir and Gilgit-Baltistan; and China controls the remaining 15% of the land …

What led to abrogation of Article 370?

Government approach In April 2018, the Supreme Court of India ruled that Article 370 had attained permanency since the state constituent assembly has ceased to exist. To overcome this legal challenge, the Indian government instead rendered Article 370 as ‘inoperative’ even though it still exists in the constitution.

Who took the Kashmir dispute to Security Council for the very first time?

India took this matter to the UN Security Council, which passed resolution 39 (1948) and established the United Nations Commission for India and Pakistan (UNCIP) to investigate the issues and mediate between the two countries.

Who are the freedom fighters of Kashmir?


  • Ataullah Shah Bukhari, Indian freedom struggle activist.
  • Amanullah Khan (JKLF) co- founder of JKLF and an activist.
  • Parveena Ahanger, co-founder and chairman of the Association of Parents of Disappeared Persons (APDP), nominated for a Nobel Peace Prize in 2005.

Who decided India Pakistan border?

Cyril Radcliffe
It was named after its architect, Cyril Radcliffe, who, as the joint chairman of the two boundary commissions for the two provinces, received the responsibility to equitably divide 175,000 square miles (450,000 km2) of territory with 88 million people.

Which chapter of UN Charter deals with Kashmir dispute?

The United Nations Security Council Resolution 47, adopted on 21 April 1948, concerns the resolution of the Kashmir conflict….United Nations Security Council Resolution 47.

UN Security Council 47
Date 21 April 1948
Meeting no. 286
Code S/726 (Document)
Subject The India–Pakistan Question

Who was the chairman of Boundary Commission?

Sir Cyril Radcliffe
Sir Cyril Radcliffe was appointed Chairman of what is known as the Bengal Boundary Commission constituted for dividing Bengal and Assam between the Domin- ions of India and Pakistan- The Commission consisted of two Hindu members and two Moslem members, besides the Chairman.

Who is the leader of Kashmir?

The office of Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir has been vacant since 20 June 2018.

Who established Jammu and Kashmir?

Jammu and Kashmir (princely state)

Princely State of Kashmir and Jammu
• 16 March 1846 – 30 June 1857 Gulab Singh (first)
• 23 September 1925 – 17 November 1952 Hari Singh (last)