Discover the world with our lifehacks

Which of the following is are supported by WCF?

Which of the following is are supported by WCF?

WCF Service host: WCF supports four types of hosting, IIS, Windows Process Activation Services (WAS), self-hosting and Windows Services. WCF Service endpoints: All communication with a Windows Communication Foundation (WCF) service occurs through the endpoints of the service.

Is used to communicate the error message from the service to the client in WCF?

Since a client’s concern area is not about how an error occurred or the factors contributing to an error, SOAP Fault contract is used to communicate the error message from the service to the client in WCF. A Fault contract enables the client to have a documented view of the errors occurred in a service.

Which of the following are the goals of Windows Communication Foundation?

Goals of WCF

  • The first goal of WCF is to unify the programming model irrespective of the transport layer.
  • The second goal of WCF is to implement the WS-* as early as possible so that it provides the best interoperability with the other WS-* implementations.

What defines how an endpoint communicates to the world?

Binding: The binding specifies how to communicate with the endpoint. This includes: The transport protocol to use (for example, TCP or HTTP).

What is fault contract in WCF?

A Fault Contract is a way to handle an error/exception in WCF. In C# we can handle the error using try and catch blocks at the client-side. The purpose of a Fault Contract is to handle an error by the service class and display in the client-side.

What is throttling in WCF?

Throttling controls place limits on the number of concurrent calls, instances, or sessions to prevent over-consumption of resources. Throttling behavior is specified in service configuration file settings. This sample is based on the Getting Started that implements a calculator service.

What is WCF tracing?

Windows Communication Foundation (WCF) uses the tracing mechanism defined in the System.Diagnostics namespace. In this tracing model, trace data is produced by trace sources that applications implement. Each source is identified by a name.

Why WCF service is used?

Windows Communication Foundation (WCF) is a framework for building service-oriented applications. Using WCF, you can send data as asynchronous messages from one service endpoint to another. A service endpoint can be part of a continuously available service hosted by IIS, or it can be a service hosted in an application.

How many endpoints can a WCF Service have?

two endpoints
The service configuration has been modified to define two endpoints that support the ICalculator contract, but each at a different address using a different binding.

How many types of contracts are there in WCF?

WCF has five types of contracts: service contract, operation contract, data contract, message contract and fault contract.

Is DataContract mandatory in WCF?

No, the DataContractAttribute is not required – WCF will infer serialization rules.

What is concurrency mode in WCF?

In WCF, concurrency issues can arise when two or more threads try to access the same resource at the same time. Note that a WCF service can handle one single request at a time. Concurrency in WCF enables you to control multiple active threads in an InstanceContext at a particular point of time.