Discover the world with our lifehacks

Which is the biggest town in Kirinyaga?

Which is the biggest town in Kirinyaga?

Its capital is Kerugoya and its largest town is Wanguru. In 2019, the county had a population of 610,411 and an area of 1,478.1 km2….

Kirinyaga County
Capital Kerugoya
• Governor Anne Waiguru

Which country is kirinyaga?

Kirinyaga County is one of the 47 counties in Kenya which borders three counties namely Nyeri, Murang’a and Embu. It covers an area of 1,478.1 square kilometres and lies between 1,158 metres and 5,380 metres above sea level in the South and at the Peak of Mt. Kenya respectively.

Which country borders Kirinyaga to the east?

Kirinyaga County is located in the central region and borders Meru County to the North, Embu County to the North East, East and South, Murang’a County to the South West and Nyeri County to the West. It covers an area of 1478.3 Km2 according to the 2019 Kenya Population and Housing Census.

How is kirinyaga divided?

Kirinyaga County is divided into five sub counties namely, Kirinyaga East, Kirinyaga West, Mwea East, Mwea West and Kirinyaga Central.

Where did Kirinyaga people come from?

Traditionally they inhabited the area around Mount Kenya, including the following counties: Murang’a, Nyeri, Kiambuu, Nyandarua, Kirinyaga and Nakuru. They are among the Kenyan communities that championed the struggle for Kenya’s independence through the Mau Mau movement and the Kikuyu Central Association (KCA).

What does Kirinyaga mean?

The Kikuyu people, who lived around present day Mt Kenya, referred to it as “Kirinyaga” or “Kerenyaga”, meaning mountain of whiteness because of its snow-capped peak. Mt Kirinyaga, which was the main landmark, became synonymous with the territory the British later claimed as their colony.

Which is the largest county in Kenya?

Largest counties in Kenya by size

  1. Turkana. Turkana is the largest county in Kenya in size with approximate geographical extent coverage of 68,680.3 square kilometers.
  2. Marsabit. The second-largest county in terms of geographical size is Marsabit.
  3. Wajir.
  4. Garissa.
  5. Tana River.
  6. Isiolo.
  7. Kitui.
  8. Kajiado.

Which sub county is Sagana?

Sagana is a small industrial town in Kirinyaga District, Central, Kenya. It is along the Nairobi-Nyeri highway, 100 kilometres north of Nairobi, the capital of Kenya. Its name comes from Kenya’s longest river, Sagana River which is also called Thagana….

Country Kenya
County Kirinyaga
Founded 1920

How many districts are in Kirinyaga County?

five districts
Administratively, the county is divided into five districts namely; Kirinyaga East, Kirinyaga West, Mwea East, Mwea West and Kirinyaga Central.

Are Embu Kikuyus?

Historically, both were just referred to as the Embu people. To the west, Embu neighbours are the closely related Kikuyu in Kirinyaga, Nyeri, Kiambu, Muranga and Nyandarua counties. The Meru people border the Embu to the East.

Which is the poorest county in Kenya?

Nairobi, Mombasa and Nakuru are Kenya’s richest counties while Isiolo, Lamu, Tana River and Samburu are the poorest counties according to a new survey that shows five counties contribute 47 percent of the national annual economic output, also known as the Gross Domestic Product (GDP).

Which is smallest county in Kenya?

Mombasa County
About Mombasa County, Kenya It is the smallest county in Kenya, covering an area of 219.9 Km2 (excluding 65 Km2 of water mass), yet Mombasa County has the fourth highest average contribution to Gross Domestic Product (GDP) in Kenya at 4.7%.