Discover the world with our lifehacks

Which is the best football club in Turkey?

Which is the best football club in Turkey?

Updated after matches played on 8 May 2022

Rank Club / Country Points
1 Trabzonspor Turkey 1615
2 Fenerbahçe Turkey 1607
3 İstanbul Başakşehir Turkey 1522
4 Galatasaray Turkey 1519

What country is the Süper Lig?

Süper Lig

Organising body Turkish Football Federation (TFF)
Founded 1 January 1959
Country Turkey
Confederation UEFA
Number of teams 20

How many Turkish football teams are there?

The league contains 18 clubs. The champions used to receive an automatic berth in the group stage of the European Champions League until the 2020/2021 season. Galatasaray, Fenerbahçe, Beşiktaş, and Trabzonspor are the most successful Turkish clubs that participate in the competition, having won the most titles so far.

How many football clubs are in Istanbul?

THE THREE CLUBS IN ISTANBUL In Istanbul there are three clubs sharing the limelight: Galatasaray, Beşiktaş and Fenerbahçe. In the last 30 years, they have only missed the title of Turkish champion once. The emblems of the clubs of Galatasaray, Fenerbahçe and Besiktaş.

Is Turkey a good team?

Since its introduction in 1992, the FIFA World Rankings have ranked Turkey between 5th and 57th place. Following their success at the 2002 World Cup, Turkey managed to stay in the top 10 in rankings between 2002 and 2004, ranking at 5th in June 2004.

Which team won Turkey league last season?

Fans of the soccer club poured onto the squares of many cities including Istanbul to celebrate the long-awaited title. Trabzonspor were crowned Turkish league champions for the first time in 38 years on Saturday, sparking huge celebrations amongst the thousands of home fans inside and outside the stadium.

What is the history of the Turkish Football League?

The National Division (Turkish: Millî Küme) was the first national league competition in Turkey. Started in 1937, the National Division consisted of the strongest clubs from the Ankara, Istanbul, and İzmir leagues.

How many clubs have won the Turkish Football Championship?

In total, fifteen different clubs have won the Turkish championship title, including titles won before the Süper Lig’s inception, namely in the former Turkish Football Championship and Turkish National Division, which are denied and not counted by the Turkish Football Federation, even though they were official championships by the TFF itself.

How many matches are there in the Turkish Super League?

The season runs from August to May, with each club playing 38 matches. Matches are played Friday through Monday. The competition was initially established as the Millî Lig (National League) in 1959 – the first professional nationwide league competition held in Turkey.

How many stars are there on a Turkish football club crest?

In Turkey, clubs are permitted to place a golden star above their crest for every five national championships won. As of the 2020-21 season Galatasaray are permitted four golden stars, Fenerbahçe and Beşiktaş are permitted three golden stars, and Trabzonspor are permitted one golden star to be placed above their crest on their jerseys.