Discover the world with our lifehacks

Which countries are in East Indies?

Which countries are in East Indies?

Also called the Indies . SE Asia, including East Timor, India, Indonesia, and the Malay Archipelago.

Where are the East Indies islands?

Southeast Asia
The East Indies is also known as the Malay Archipelago. The world’s largest island group, it includes thousands of islands in an area that extends more than 3,800 miles (6,100 kilometers) between mainland Southeast Asia to the north and west and Australia to the south.

Why are they called the Indies?

They were named the Indies by Christopher Columbus, the first European on record to reach the islands. He believed that he had reached India, and thus, called the newly-discovered islands the Indies.

What is the present name of East Indies?

Dutch East Indies, also called Netherlands East Indies, Dutch Nederlands Oost-Indië or Nederlandsch-Indië, one of the overseas territories of the Netherlands until December 1949, now Indonesia.

Is India part of the East Indies?

In a second, larger sense, East Indies refers to the Malay Archipelago (including the Philippines), which now is more commonly called insular (or archipelagic) Southeast Asia. Finally, in its broadest context, the term East Indies encompasses the foregoing plus all of mainland Southeast Asia and India.

Why is the West Indies so called?

The West Indies refers to a collection of islands in the Caribbean. These islands have nothing to do with India – they were named the West Indies because when Christopher Columbus arrived on the island of Hispanola (where the Dominican Republic and Haiti are), he thought that he was in India.

What ethnicity is East Indian?

East Indian people is a demonym that is used in North America to refer to: people from the Indian subcontinent, i.e., the South Asian ethnic groups, or. Indo-Caribbean, Caribbean people with roots in India. people from India, Indian people.

What ethnicity is east Indian?

Is West Indies in Asia?

The West Indies is a subregion of North America, surrounded by the North Atlantic Ocean and the Caribbean Sea that includes 13 independent island countries and 18 dependencies and other territories in three major archipelagos: the Greater Antilles, the Lesser Antilles, and the Lucayan Archipelago.

Is Jamaica part of USA?

Jamaica became independent from the United Kingdom in 1962 but remains a member of the Commonwealth.

Is West Indies and Caribbean the same?

The Caribbean (also known as the West Indies) is a region of the Americas consisting of the Caribbean Sea, its islands, and the surrounding coasts. The region is located southeast of North America, east of Central America, and to the northwest of South America.

Why do they call them East Indians?

In order to differentiate the ethnic community of Bombay from the migrants, they began to call themselves the Original East Indians, after the company. Today, there are about 600,000 East Indians residing in Mumbai, Thane and Vasai.