Discover the world with our lifehacks

What year was the first Ashes Test match?

What year was the first Ashes Test match?

Ashes, symbol of victory in the usually biennial cricket Test (international) match series between select national teams of England and Australia, first staged in 1877.

Who won the 1st Ashes series?

‘The Ashes’ series is a Test series played between the first two Test playing nations, England and Australia. The first ever Ashes test series was played in 1882/83 season. The England cricket team won the first 8 Ashes series until Australia claimed the Ashes urn for the first time in 1891/92.

Who won 2010/11 Ashes?

It was the first time in 24 years that England had won the Ashes in Australia….

2010–11 Ashes series
Date 25 November 2010 – 7 January 2011
Location Australia
Result England won the five-Test series 3–1
Player of the series Alastair Cook (Eng) Compton–Miller Medal: Alastair Cook (Eng)

Who won most Ashes Test?

Australia has won more Ashes Tests than England, winning 140 of the 340 matches, compared to England’s 108 victories. Australia also holds the edge in Ashes series won, having won on 34 occasions compared to England’s 32.

Where was the first Ashes test played?

It was 1882 when at the Oval in London, Australia won its first test match on English soil, beating its hosts by seven runs in a match that spanned two days in late August.

Why is the 2005 Ashes so famous?

Starting on 21 July 2005, England and Australia played five Tests, with the Ashes held by Australia as the most recent victors. The final result was a 2–1 series win for England, who succeeded (for the first time since 1986–87) in their biennial attempt to win the urn.

Who won Ashes more times?

Overall there have been 72 series played between the two nations with Australia holding a lead of 34 series wins, while England has won 32, and 6 series have been drawn. Australia, the current holders of the Ashes, retained the title after clinching the 2021 series 4-0 following the 2019 series that ended in a draw.

Who won Ashes 2013?

2013 Ashes series
Date 10 July – 25 August 2013
Location England
Result England won the five-Test series 3–0
Player of the series Ian Bell (Eng) and Ryan Harris (Aus) Compton–Miller Medal: Ian Bell (Eng)

Who won Ashes 2009?

Starting on 8 July 2009, England and Australia played five Tests, with England winning the series 2–1. England thus reclaimed The Ashes from Australia, who had won the previous series in 2006–07. Andrew Strauss became just the second England captain in 20 years, alongside Michael Vaughan in 2005, to win the Ashes.

Which Ashes series is best?

The 2005 Ashes was one of the greatest series in cricket history and saw England triumph over their fiercest rivals for the first time in nearly 19 years. It appeared to be business as usual for long-suffering England fans when Australia won the first Test at Lord’s by 239 runs.