Discover the world with our lifehacks

What part of NSW is the Riverina?

What part of NSW is the Riverina?

south-western New South Wales
The Riverina is an agricultural region of south-western New South Wales (NSW), which extends from the foothills of the Snowy Mountains north west through the Murrumbidgee River catchment area to the flat dry inland plains of Hay and Carrathool.

What towns are part of the Riverina?

The major Riverina towns are Albury, Wagga Wagga, Leeton, Griffith, Junee, Narrandera, Deniliquin, Hay, and Condobolin.

What suburbs are in the Riverina?

It comprises the regional cities of Wagga Wagga and Griffith and the local government areas of Bland, Carrathool, Coolamon, Cootamundra-Gundagai, Griffith, Hay, Junee, Leeton, Lockhart, Murrumbidgee, Narrandera, Snowy Valleys, Temora and Wagga Wagga.

What is considered Riverina?

In common usage the Riverina generally comprises the agricultural and pastoral areas of New South Wales, west of the Great Dividing Range and in the drainage basin of the snow-fed Murray and Murrumbidgee Rivers.

How far is Riverina NSW from Sydney?

617 km
Yes, the driving distance between Sydney to Riverina is 617 km. It takes approximately 6h 43m to drive from Sydney to Riverina.

What is the Riverina known for?

The Riverina. With wine tasting at cellar doors, abundant fresh produce and intriguing heritage trails, the Riverina in Country NSW is a wonderful destination. The largest wine-producing region in NSW is famous for its botrytis semillon, a dessert wine.

Is Mildura in the Riverina?

Its main centre is Mildura, Victoria….Sunraysia.

Sunraysia Australia
State electorate(s) Mildura (Vic) Murray (NSW)
Federal division(s) Farrer (NSW) Mallee (Vic)
Localities around Sunraysia: Riverina Riverina Riverina Millewa Sunraysia Loddon Mallee Wimmera Goldfields

Is Gundagai in the Riverina?

Explore the rich cultural heritage of Gundagai, a picturesque country town in the beautiful Riverina. You’ll find the famous Dog on the Tuckerbox Pioneer Monument, as well as a rich architectural, colonial and indigenous history, great fishing, a thrilling rodeo and boutique wineries.

What is Wagga Wagga famous for?

Wagga Wagga is widely recognised as the “City of Good Sports” because many of Australia’s sporting heroes came from this city including former Australian cricket captain Mark Taylor, rugby legend Peter Sterling and AFL great Paul Kelly.

Is Shepparton in the Riverina?

Shepparton (/ˈʃɛpərtən/) (Yortayorta: Kanny-goopna) is a city located on the floodplain of the Goulburn River in northern Victoria, Australia, approximately 181 kilometres (112 mi) north-northeast of Melbourne.

Is Griffith in the Riverina?

Griffith /ˈɡrɪfəθ/ is a major regional city in the Murrumbidgee Irrigation Area that is located in the north-western part of the Riverina region of New South Wales, known commonly as the food bowl of Australia.

Why is Wagga called twice?

It is widely accepted that ‘Wagga’ means ‘crow’ and to create the plural, the Wiradjuri people repeat the word. Thus Wagga Wagga translates as ‘the place of many crows’.