Discover the world with our lifehacks

What is the pathway of blood clotting?

What is the pathway of blood clotting?

The intrinsic pathway consists of factors I, II, IX, X, XI, and XII. Respectively, each one is named, fibrinogen, prothrombin, Christmas factor, Stuart-Prower factor, plasma thromboplastin, and Hageman factor. The extrinsic pathway consists of factors I, II, VII, and X. Factor VII is called stable factor.

What are the 6 steps in blood clotting process?


  1. Vaso Constriction. Within about 30 minutes of damage/trauma to the blood vessels, vascular spasm ensues, which leads to vasoconstriction.
  2. Platelet Adhesion.
  3. Platelet Activation.
  4. Platelet Aggregation.
  5. Extrinsic Pathway.
  6. Intrinsic Pathway.
  7. Fibrin Clot Formation.
  8. Clot Resolution (Tertiary Hemostasis).

What is blood coagulation PDF?

THE BLOOD COAGULATION MECHANISM. • The clotting mechanism is a series of reactions involving chemicals that. normally circulate in the blood and others that are released when a vessel is. damaged. • A blood clot is formed when the plasma protein fibrinogen is cleaved by.

What are the five stages of blood clotting?

Here’s how the process works:

  • Injury. A cut on the skin or an internal injury creates a small tear in a blood vessel wall, which causes blood flow.
  • Vessel constriction.
  • Platelet plug.
  • Fibrin clot.

What are the 12 blood clotting factors?

What Are The Twelve Blood Clotting Factors?

  • Fibrinogen (Factor 1)
  • Prothrombin (Factor 2)
  • Thromboplastin (Factor 3)
  • Calcium (Factor 4)
  • Proaccelerin or Labile Factor (Factor 5)
  • Stable Factor (Factor 6)
  • Antihemophilic Factor (Factor 8)
  • Christmas Factor (Factor 9)

What is the 6th clotting factor?

Eukaryotic initiation factor 6 (eIF6) localizes to nucleoli and in the cytoplasm where it regulates ribosome biogenesis and translation, respectively. The yeast homologue, Tif6, is a component of preribosomal particles and essential for biogenesis of the 60S ribosomal subunit.

What are the 13 clotting factors?

The following are coagulation factors and their common names:

  • Factor I – fibrinogen.
  • Factor II – prothrombin.
  • Factor III – tissue thromboplastin (tissue factor)
  • Factor IV – ionized calcium ( Ca++ )
  • Factor V – labile factor or proaccelerin.
  • Factor VI – unassigned.
  • Factor VII – stable factor or proconvertin.

What are the 13 factors responsible for blood clotting?

What are the names of clotting factors?

The common pathway factors X, V, II, I, and XIII are also known as Stuart-Prower factor, proaccelerin, prothrombin, fibrinogen, and fibrin-stabilizing factor respectively. Clotting factor IV is a calcium ion that plays an important role in all 3 pathways.

What are the 12 factors of blood clotting?

What is name of first clotting factor?

List of coagulation factors

Number and/or name(s) Function
Factor I (fibrinogen) Forms fibrin threads (clot)
Factor II (prothrombin) Its active form (IIa) activates platelets, factors I, V, VII, VIII, XI, XIII, protein C

What is fibrinogen?

Listen to pronunciation. (fy-BRIH-noh-jen) A protein involved in forming blood clots in the body. It is made in the liver and forms fibrin.