Discover the world with our lifehacks

What is mile wide and inch deep teaching?

What is mile wide and inch deep teaching?

In other words, the mile wide, as we understand it at here, refers to the range of activities that are presented through the teaching in PE. On the other hand, the depth – or perhaps more appropriately the shallowness – is concerned with learning and the educational outcome.

What are the types of curriculum design?

There are three basic types of curriculum design: Subject-centered design. Learner-centered design. Problem-centered design.

What are the four curriculum dimensions?

The findings indicate that the educators conceived the curriculum in terms of four main dimensions including: curriculum as the observation of children’s development; curriculum as a reflection of children’s interests and developmental potential; curriculum as the philosophical and religious beliefs of the educator; …

What are the dimensions of hidden curriculum?

Ahola (see Resources) has usefully broken the omnibus concept of hidden curriculum into four basic dimensions. These are — • learning to learn; • learning the profession, • learning to be expert; and • learning the game.

What can be a remedy to mile wide inch deep?

But, this “mile wide and inch deep” approach to education doesn’t often provide much substance….Here is a recommended approach.

  • Start with drawing.
  • Add in painting.
  • Move to sculpture.
  • End with student choice.

What does inch deep mean?

“A mile wide and an inch deep” is attributed to Edgar Nye referring to a river in the Midwest. It has become to mean being shallow or lacking depth in a particular subject matter.

What are the 3 curriculum design models?

There are three models of curriculum design: subject-centered, learner-centered, and problem-centered design.

What are the 3 dimensions of curriculum?

The methodology is a synthesis of two sets of ideas. The first is an idea of three dimensions in comparative education: supranational, national and subnational processes. The second regards levels of curriculum: societal, institutional, instructional and experiential.

What are the 5 dimensions of teaching and learning?

The 5D instructional framework provides a common language of instruction that defines teaching and learning along five dimensions: purpose, student engagement, curriculum and pedagogy, assessment for student learning, and classroom environment and culture. These five dimensions are further defined by 13 subdimensions.

What is a hidden curriculum provide five examples?

Hidden curriculum consists of concepts informally and often unintentionally taught in our school system. Social expectations of gender, language, behavior, or morals are examples of this. The results of hidden curricula in schools filter out into society as students grow into adults.