Discover the world with our lifehacks

What are the 4 elements of cultural competence?

What are the 4 elements of cultural competence?

Cultural competence has four major components: awareness, attitude, knowledge, and skills.

What are the 5 components of cultural competence?

Five essential elements contribute to a system’s institution’s, or agency’s ability to become more culturally competent which include:

  • Valuing diversity.
  • Having the capacity for cultural self-assessment.
  • Being conscious of the dynamics inherent when cultures interact.
  • Having institutionalized culture knowledge.

What is ethnocultural competence?

An integral personal quality which is exhibited as a complex of knowledge about the culture of origin and ethnic cultures, their place in the world culture as well as the experience of mastering ethnocultural values and is displayed by a person in skills, abilities and behavior models in monoethnic and polyethnic …

What are the three components of intercultural competence?

“The components of intercultural competence are knowledge, skills and attitudes, complemented by the values a person holds as a part of belonging to a number of social groups. These values are also representative of a person’s social identities.

What are 4 strategies that support cultural competence?

Best Practices for Cultural Competency:

  1. Value Diversity. Respect all cultures.
  2. Self-Awareness. Recognize any personal biases against people of different cultures and work to eliminate them.
  3. Awareness and Acceptance of Differences.
  4. Dynamics of Differences.
  5. Accept Responsibility.
  6. Knowledge of Patient’s Culture.
  7. Adaptation.

What are the 5 stages of cultural awareness?


  • Stage 1. Blindness – Unconsciously Unaware. The first stage, also known as blindness, is where you’re unconsciously unaware.
  • Stage 2. Sensitivity – Consciously Unaware.
  • Stage 3. Competence – Consciously Aware.
  • Stage 4. Proficiency – Unconsciously Aware.

What are the 7 characteristics of competent intercultural communicators?

Terms in this set (7)

  • Wide Range of Behaviors. Having & acquiring numerous skills that are at your disposal for use.
  • Ability to Choose Most Appropriate Behavior.
  • Skilled at Performing Behaviors.
  • Empathy/Perspective Taking.
  • Cognitive Complexity.
  • Self Monitoring.
  • Commitment to the Relationship.

What are examples of intercultural competence?

The profile includes nine essential skills or qualities of interculturally effective persons:

  • adaptation skills.
  • attitude of modesty and respect.
  • understanding of the concept of culture.
  • knowledge of the host country and culture.
  • relationship-building.
  • self-knowledge.
  • intercultural communication.
  • organizational skills.

What are the 5 principles of cultural safety?

Five principles to engender cultural safety

  • Protocols. Find out about cultural forms of engagement and respect these.
  • Personal knowledge.
  • Partnerships.
  • Process.
  • Positive purpose.

What are the principles of cultural competence?

A Cultural Competence Model: 5 Essential Principles

  • Valuing diversity. Valuing diversity means accepting and respecting differences between and within cultures.
  • Conducting cultural self-assessment.
  • Understanding the dynamics of difference.
  • Institutionalizing cultural knowledge.
  • Adapting to diversity.

What are some examples of cultural competence?

A basic understanding of your own culture. (It’s difficult to understand another’s culture if you aren’t familiar with your own.) A willingness to learn about the cultural practices and worldview of others. A positive attitude toward cultural differences and a readiness to accept and respect those differences.