Discover the world with our lifehacks

What are the 14 Stations of the Cross in order?

What are the 14 Stations of the Cross in order?

The series of stations is as follows: (1) Jesus is condemned to death, (2) he is made to bear his cross, (3) he falls the first time, (4) he meets his mother, (5) Simon of Cyrene is made to bear the cross, (6) Veronica wipes Jesus’ face, (7) he falls the second time, (8) the women of Jerusalem weep over Jesus, (9) he …

How pray Stations of the Cross Philippines?

Opening Prayer

  1. Station 1: Jesus is Condemned to Death.
  2. Station 2: Jesus Carries His Cross.
  3. Station 3: Jesus Falls for the First Time.
  4. Station 4: Jesus Meets His Mother.
  5. Station 5: Simon Helps Jesus Carry His Cross.
  6. Station 6: Veronica wipes the Face of Jesus.
  7. Station 7: Jesus Falls for the Second Time.

What prayers do you say at Stations of the Cross?

We adore you oh Christ and we praise you, for by your holy cross you have redeemed the world. St. Alphonsus de Liguori wrote this prayer, along with a popular series of meditations on the stations.

What do the 14 Stations of the Cross represent?

The stations grew out of imitations of the Via Dolorosa in Jerusalem, which is a traditional processional route symbolising the actual path Jesus walked to Mount Calvary. The objective of the stations is to help the Christian faithful to make a spiritual pilgrimage through contemplation of the Passion of Christ.

Who denied Jesus 3 times?

Following the arrest of Jesus, Peter denied knowing him three times, but after the third denial, he heard the rooster crow and recalled the prediction as Jesus turned to look at him. Peter then began to cry bitterly. This final incident is known as the Repentance of Peter.

What is the thirteenth station of the cross?

Between the previous Stations of the Cross is a statue of the Virgin Mary, Our Lady of Sorrows, and above this is an arch that says “Stabat Mater” (“the mother stood”).

What is the 15th station of the Cross?

the resurrection
In 2000, Pope John Paul II established a 15th station — the resurrection. Both the Catholic Church and the Episcopal Church have Stations of the Cross.

How do Catholics cross yourself?

The motion is performed by joining the first three fingers, to symbolize the Holy Trinity, and putting the two other fingers in the palm, then touching one’s forehead, below the chest, left side, then right side and finishing with open hand on the chest again with bowing head.

Is there a 15th station of the Cross?

Traditionally there were fourteen stations. During his papacy, which began in 1978, Pope John Paul II encouraged Catholics to add a fifteenth Station, the Resurrection of Christ, which is now included in many Catholic churches.

Who started the Stations of the Cross?

In the end it was Leonard of Port Maurice or Porto Maurizio (Italy) (1676–1751), a Franciscan of the Riformella, who established what we know as the 14 Stations of the Cross. During his long life as missionary, Saint Leonard erected more than 570 Stations of the Cross.

Does Judas go to heaven?

The question is asked: “Did Judas go to heaven?” Yes, if going to heaven was a matter of good works. Judas had a lot of good works. He traveled with Christ for three years without a salary or any certain dwelling place. He was one of the 12 who helped Christ feed the multitude (Matthew 14) to name a few.