Discover the world with our lifehacks

How many divisions are there in Spain?

How many divisions are there in Spain?

Professional Spanish football is divided into the Primera División (First Division) and Segunda División (Second Division). The First Division is also known as Liga Santander, for sponsorship reasons, while the Second Division is known as La Liga SmartBank.

What is the second division in Spain called?

The Campeonato Nacional de Liga de Segunda División, commercially known as La Liga 2 and stylized as LaLiga SmartBank for sponsorship reasons, is the men’s second professional association football division of the Spanish football league system.

What is the Spanish third division called?

Tercera División
Tercera División (English: Third Division) was the fourth tier of the Spanish football league system. Founded in 1929, it was below the Primera División (also known as La Liga), the Segunda División, and the semi-professional Segunda División B.

How many tiers are there in Spanish football?

Evolution of the Spanish league system

Tier\Years 1929 since 2021
1 Primera División Primera División**
2 Segunda División Group A Segunda División
3 Segunda División Group B 1ª División RFEF
4 None* 2ª División RFEF

Can Real Madrid B play in La Liga?

Reserve teams, however, cannot play in the same division as their senior team. Therefore, Real Madrid Castilla are ineligible for promotion to the Primera División….Real Madrid Castilla.

Full name Real Madrid Castilla Club de Fútbol
Head coach Raúl
League 1ª RFEF – Group 2
2020–21 2ª B – Group 5 (A), 2nd of 10 2ª B – Group 5 (C), 3rd of 6

How does the Spanish second division work?

The second-place teams in the 18 groups are drawn against the fourth-place teams and the third-place teams are drawn against each other creating 27 further two-legged play-off games. The 27 winners will advance to the next round where they are joined by the nine losing group winner semi-finalists.

Can Spanish B teams play in La Liga?

Can Spanish B teams play in La Liga? Spanish B teams have to play at least one level below their senior team. This means that the Spanish B teams can never play in the La Liga.

Can Barcelona B play La Liga?

How do B teams work in Spain?

In countries such as Spain, these reserve teams play in the same league system as the first-team albeit a division lower i.e. as Barcelona and Real Madrid play in the Primera Division, the La Liga, it implies Barcelona B and Real Madrid Castilla should play in the second division or lower.

Can Ajax and Jong Ajax be in the same league?

Jong Ajax (Dutch pronunciation: [ˈjɔŋ ˈaːjɑks]) (English: Young Ajax), also referred to as Ajax II or Ajax 2 is a Dutch association football team, the reserve team of Ajax….Jong Ajax.

Full name Jong Ajax
League Eerste Divisie
2021–22 Eerste Divisie, 7th of 20
Website Club website
Home colours Away colours