Discover the world with our lifehacks

How do I get my nail tech license in California?

How do I get my nail tech license in California?

Nail Technician School and License Requirements in California

  1. Successfully Complete an Approved Manicurist Program.
  2. Complete a Manicurist Application for Examination and Initial License.
  3. Take and Pass the California Manicurist Licensure Examinations.
  4. Keep your Manicurist License Current and Explore your Career Options.

Can you become a licensed nail tech online in California?

The Manicurist Licensing Process in CA After you successfully complete a Board-accredited program, you will then be required to complete and submit the Manicurist Application for Examination and Initial License. This can be done either on paper or online. (See the board website for fees).

How long does it take to get a nail license in California?

The California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology requires the following school hours, depending on your license type: Cosmetologist = 1000 hours, Barber = 1000 hours, Esthetician = 600 hours, Electrologist = 600 hours, Manicurist = 400 hours.

Do you have to be a licensed nail tech in California?

California Nail Technician Licensing Requirements To perform manicures, pedicures, and other nail services for a fee, you need to pass the California State Board examinations or the National Interstate Council (NIC) examinations and receive your state license after completing your training.

How much does nail school cost in California?


Tution & Fees $ 6,300.00
E-Books ($235.91 (see below for books and ISBN information)), Supplies ($325.00), Young Nails Kits, Jazz Kit and Drill (594.25); Enrollment Fee ($100.00), Chromebook ($300.00) $ 1,555.16
Total Program Cost $ 7,855.16
Institution offers housing No on-campus housing

How much does a nail tech make in California?

Nail technicians earn an average yearly salary of $29,640. Wages typically start from $29,120 and go up to $38,750.

What happens if you do nails without a license in California?

Your state may have fines and misdemeanor convictions as part of the consequences of practicing without a license. Additionally, if it’s discovered that you don’t have a license because you accidentally hurt someone while practicing, there may be more severe consequences, including criminal charges.

What do I need to become a nail tech?

Although nail technicians don’t necessarily need formal qualifications, at least some basic form of training or experience with nail treatments is needed and you will need to obtain professional insurance in order to legally carry out nail services to clients.

How much do nail techs make a day California?

The average salary for a nail technician is $64.79 per hour in California.

Can I open a nail salon without a license?

Obtain Permits and Licenses In most states, nail salon owners are required to have a state-issued cosmetology license, and many states also require you to get a general business license, zoning permits and an employee identification number.

What can you do with a California nail Tech license?

From simple nail care and nail trimming to intricately designed artificial nails, there’s a style that suits everybody. When you earn a California nail tech license, you learn how to interpret a customer’s needs and use your skills to meet those needs. Licensing is regulated by the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology.

What are the requirements for licensing a nail technician?

Other requirements for licensure often include the completion of an HIV/AIDS course and a course in state laws/regulations. Some state boards of cosmetology require nail technicians to complete a number of continuing education credits to maintain their licenses.

Where can I find a list of approved nail technician programs?

Many state boards of cosmetology maintain lists of approved nail technician programs in the state. It is important that students understand their state’s requirements for achieving a manicurist license when choosing a program as to ensure the program meets state requirements.

How often do you need to renew your nail technician license?

Don’t forget that part of nail technician licensing is renewing your license on time. In California, that means renewing your license every two years by the original issue date. There are no continuing education requirements for license renewal, but getting sufficient practice is a big part of growing in your career.