Discover the world with our lifehacks

How do I contact Child Protective Services?

How do I contact Child Protective Services?

Click on the website above for information on reporting or call Childhelp (800-422-4453) for assistance. Mandated reporters may use the online child abuse reporting system in non-emergency situations. Click on the website above for information on reporting or call Childhelp (800-422-4453) for assistance.

How do I contact CPS in Ohio?

If you suspect a child is being abused or neglected, call 1-855-OH-CHILD (1-855-642-4453), and you’ll be connected to a local child welfare or law enforcement agency.

Can you call CPS anonymously in Ohio?

Report Child Abuse and Neglect 855 O-H-CHILD Reports can be anonymous. Please Note: All of the below information is not needed to make a report. If you are not sure you have enough information to report, always err on the safety of the child.

How long does CPS have to investigate in Ohio?

approximately 45 days
In most instances, Child Protective Services has approximately 45 days to investigate reports of neglect, dependency and abuse. If the investigation takes longer than 45 days the agency must promptly notify the family about the extension.

What constitutes neglect of a child?

Neglect is the ongoing failure to meet a child’s basic needs and the most common form of child abuse2. A child might be left hungry or dirty, or without proper clothing, shelter, supervision or health care. This can put children and young people in danger.

When can a social worker remove a child?

Can social services take my child away? Social services will usually only take a child away from their parents if they believe that the child is at risk of harm or neglect in their current circumstances. They are obliged to investigate any complaints or concerns reported to them.

What can’t CPS do in Ohio?

CPS cannot test you for drugs without your consent. You cannot be forced to submit to a drug test without your consent unless they have a court order. However, there are many good reasons to consider giving consent to a drug test.

What is a unfit mother?

In California, an unfit parent is a parent who, through their conduct, fails to provide proper guidance, care, or support to their children. This can include not only a parent’s actions but also a home environment where abuse, neglect, or substance abuse is present.